Gary Gaines
Head Coach

This will be the third PHS appearance for Coach Gaines, serving as an assistant from 1979-81, head coach from 1986-89 and for 2009-xx. The Panthers were Class 5A state champions in 1980 and 1989.  Teams he has coached include:  Petersburg, Denver City, Amarillo Tascosa, Monahans, Permian, Texas Tech, Abilene, San Angelo Central, and  Abilene Christian.  He has been athletic director for the Ector County ISD and Lubbock ISD.

David Jones
Assistant HC / DBs
Second year at Permian.
Experience:  17 years
Denton Guyer - Asst HC
Brownwood - DC
Steve Freeman
Assoc HC / Off Coordinator
First year at Permian.
Experience:  16 years
Brownwood - Head Coach
Brownwood - Assistant Coach
Jeff Howard
Def Coordinator / LBs
Third year at Permian.
Played for ENMU
Named 1st team
All-American in 2004.
Morgan Robinson
Offensive Line
Zack Quisenberry
Defensive Line
First year at Permian.
Mike Ballew
Third year at Permian.
Experience: 7 years
Argyle - Offense
Temple - Receivers
Brent Brevard
Running Backs
First year at Permian
Experience:  19 years
Ballinger - Head Coach
Joe Flores
Tight Ends
Third year at Permian.
Experience:  10 years
Pecos - Receivers / Tight Ends
Fort Stockton - Offensive Line
Marteis Rogers
First year at Permian.
Experience:  7 years
Rockwall - 4
Bonham Jr - 3
Jarrett Lambert
Special Teams
Third year at Permian.
Experience:  7 years
Temple - Special Teams
Bonham Jr - Defensive Line
Randall Vaughn

Gene Mayfield led the Panthers to the school's first state championship title in 1965.  He left Permian in 1971 and was head coach at West Texas State from 1971-76.
Gil Bartosh
left Permian after the '72 state title season to Texas A&M.  After which, he was head coach at Texas-El Paso for three seasons.
John Wilkins left the coach's office in 1985 and moved downtown as the school district's athletic director.  Wilkins took the athletic director job at Midland Trinity in 1998, and found himself back on the sideline as head coach until Spring 2002.
After winning a state title, Gary Gaines moved to Texas Tech where he served as linebacker coach from 1990-93.  After head coaching at Abilene Christian University, he returned to ECISD as Athletic Director.
Tam Hollingshead left Permian and headed to AggieLand in 1994.  Hollingshead celebrated nine seasons as tight end coach at Texas A&M, before taking the head coaching position with the Temple Wildcats.  He is now at Rockwall Heath.
Randy Mayes
left Permian in 1999 and is at Flower Mound Marcus as a physical education teacher.

T.J. Mills coached the Panthers to a 15-15 record in his three season tenure.  He returned to the Texas coast as LaPorte's head coach.

Scott Smith spent two seasons as Permian's head coach.  In Smith's first season, the Panthers went 6-4.  In his second year went 4-6.

Darren Allman made his return to Permian as the 11th head coach in the school's history.  Allman was the first to not only play but also head coach the Panthers.  In his four years at Permian, compiled a 38-11 record and made three playoff appearances.





1997-2008 MojoLand - Land of the Legend.
Site design by Terry Alan, KylGrafX